Ashes 2023: England ‘bewildered’ after umpires force Ollie Pope to field despite external blow
England were left “frustrated” after Ollie Pope re-injured his shoulder in Australia’s second innings, having also done so in the first, having been told by the match officials that they would not be allowed a substitute if Pope did not field.
Pope has twice left the field holding his shoulder at Lord’s, once in each innings. In England’s first innings, he was able to bat at first-drop despite a lengthy absence. The ICC Playing Conditions state that if a player is off the field, they incur penalty time, and that they will not be allowed to bat until the penalty time has elapsed, or their side has lost five wickets. Additionally, they state that a substitute fielder will only be allowed if a player is