Excitement builds ahead of Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 Qualifier events in Europe and EAP

Men's T20 World Cup 2024

The road to the biggest-ever ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in 2024 continues in July as Scotland and Papua New Guinea (PNG) prepare to host the Europe and East Asia Pacific (EAP) Regional Finals in July. 

With qualification for the event having already commenced in 2022, these events represent the final step in the qualification pathway through to the main event, where 20 teams will be competing for the ultimate prize in T20 cricket in the West Indies and the United States of America (USA) in June 2024. 

The Europe Regional Final will be held in Scotland from 20-28 July, and will see the hosts compete alongside Austria, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, Italy and Jersey, where the top two nations will secure a place at the global showpiece event.

The EAP Regional Final, taking place from 21-29 July, will feature Japan, Philippines, Vanuatu and hosts PNG, with only the winning finalist set to seal their spot at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024.

Africa and the Americas are set to host their Regional Finals in the final quarter of the year, while the Asia Regional Final venue and dates will be confirmed in due course.

Cricket Scotland Interim Head of Performance, Toby Bailey remarked: “Hosting the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Europe Regional Final represents a fantastic opportunity for Cricket Scotland. We are looking forward to hosting one of the biggest European regional events ever and, after staging a successful series against New Zealand last summer, we’re pleased to be bringing more world-class cricket to our fans here at home. 

“The squad is already working hard to make sure we go into the Qualifier fully prepared, and we are looking forward to the opportunity to qualify for the 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup.”  

EAP Acting Regional Development Manager, Rob Gomm said: “The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup EAP Final marks the biggest event the EAP region has seen, with direct qualification into the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup on the line. Each team has earned their right to compete for the opportunity and will no doubt perform their best on the big stage. 

“I would like to wish Japan, the Philippines, PNG, and Vanuatu the very best for the event, and extend my sincere thanks to Cricket PNG for hosting what will not doubt be an incredible event.”

Regional Finals 2023

Europe (2 qualifying teams) 

20-28 July 2023 – Scotland

Austria, Denmark, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Jersey, Scotland.

East Asia Pacific (1 qualifying team) 

21-29 July 2023 – Papua New Guinea

Japan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Vanuatu.

Americas (1 qualifying team) 

30 September-7 October 2023 – Bermuda

Bermuda, Canada, Cayman Islands, Panama.

Africa (2 qualifying teams) 

20 November – 1 December 2023 – Namibia

Kenya, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, Zimbabwe. 

Asia (2 qualifying teams) 

Dates & location TBA

Bahrain, Hong Kong, Nepal, Oman, Singapore, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Winner of Sub Regional Qualifier A & Winner of Sub Regional Qualifier B. 


Leave a Comment

More in News

David Warner

How David Warner Is Getting Nicely Geared Up For The T20 World Cup?

David Warner is the archetypal example of a devastating batsman ...
Ben Stokes

Ian Chappell Lauds Ben Stokes For His Excellent Leadership In India

England are facing a rather interesting challenge out here in ...
Shubman Gill

Shubman Gill Must Keep Going Having Just Scored A Test Ton v England

There are two ways, if not more, to analyse Shubman ...
Joe Root

Why Joe Root Has To Absolutely Get Going For England Vs India

The England cricket team that is currently playing in India ...
Jasprit Bumrah

Ahead Of The Third Test, England Will Have To Find A Way To Tackle Jasprit Bumrah

In the most recent Second Test of the ongoing India ...

Trending on Cricket Chronicle